This Blog is Now Searchable!

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

No Matter What Your Stand is…

On the issues happening in Gaza, this blog is worth reading:

http://www.gilad.co.uk/writings/after-all-i-am-a-proper-zionist-jew-by-gilad-atzmon.html

And I don’t usually bring these views into this area but thought I would share. So read and make your own decisions. I am not here to persuade just to pass on some info.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Water?

Okay to be completely honest I have never enjoyed water, never saw the benefits of it until recently.

I just started running and can finally understand why someone would want to drink water after and before a brisk run. I made the mistake of NOT drinking it before my run and felt the effects immediately.

I will not make that mistake again.

So, basically I will be incorporating water into my daily fitness and meal routine.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Healthy Choices for the Kids!

Kids can be very very picky eaters. But as a Mom and vegetarian I have learned how to incorporate healthy choices into our daily meal and snack choices.

One of our easy choices that satisfies and is healthy are Multi Grain Cheerios.  001

Not only are they yummy but they also are packed with good stuff for kids and adults.

For meals I always try to incorporate at least one or several vegetables!

My kids even eat a lot of this stuff raw…I can’t cook up a pepper without having them begging for pieces.

Even if kids aren’t into vegetables it’s really easy to sneak them into things like pasta sauces and salsas. And kids do love to dip. Do whatever you have to do to get your kids to eat healthy! its the only way to ensure good eating habits down the road!

Friday, May 28, 2010

Something I had NO idea happened…

until I became a MOM.

http://www.mariettatimes.com/page/content.detail/id/522161.html

“Ohio children entering kindergarten and the seventh grade this year will have new vaccination requirements to take care of before the students can start school.

The Ohio Department of Health recently updated its requirements, and seventh-graders will now need to have a Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis) vaccination, kindergartners will need a second dose of the chickenpox vaccine and the final dose of polio vaccine must be given on or after a child's 4th birthday for kindergarten entry.

"By requiring these additional vaccines, we hope to minimize the spread of preventable illnesses in schools and provide Ohio's children with a healthier environment to learn," Ohio Department of Health Director Alvin Jackson said in a news release.

Children were already required to have a shot for tetanus and diphtheria, but pertussis, also known as whooping cough, is the new component, said Vickie Kelly, director of nursing at the Marietta Health Department.

Most children age 6 and younger receive protection against it but older children typically don't.

There had been an increase in cases of whooping cough in Ohio in recent years, with cases jumping from 628 in 2008 to 1,096 in 2009.

"This is geared now to children that are 11 or 12," said Kelly. "They've had it before, but after so many years the protection wears off."

When older children get whooping cough, they often react differently than a very young children would, said Kelly, perhaps having spasmodic coughing but not severe respiratory problems, vomiting and other symptoms.

"A lot of times they don't realize what it is then and think it's a cold or the flu," she said. "And all this time they're contagious and can spread it to the very young and very old."

The Marietta Health Department offered the Tdap shots at Marietta Middle School to sixth-graders and vaccinated about 40 percent of the class.

They will be available all summer at the city health department, which is open until 6:30 p.m. the first Monday of each month to accommodate working parents.

The cost is $7, although no one will be turned away for inability to pay.

"We always encourage parents to bring their kids sooner rather than later," Kelly said. "The waiting time is a lot longer when it's right before school starts."

The second dose of the chickenpox vaccine, now required for kindergartners, is also available.

A second dose provides 99 percent protection against the disease and acts as an insurance policy, said Kelly, in case the immunity wasn't formed when children received their first dose.”

I honestly had NO idea until I became a Mom that parents could legally even delay or not get their children vaccinated. I personally don’t understand the paranoia behind not getting a child vaccinated other than for medical or religious reasons. I personally think that if neither of these apply that it should be mandated and that exceptions for any other reasons should not be allowed.

Here a link to my state’s laws regarding the topic:

http://www.vaclib.org/exempt/massachusetts.htm

*stepping off my soap box for now

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

On the topic of Summer Eating…

I came across this…

http://www.eatingwell.com/blogs/hilary_meyer/2010_05_25/no_fail_tips_to_overcome_your_fear_of_grilling_seafood

I love cooking seafood on the grill because it’s so fast and, because most seafood is relatively mild, it readily absorbs smoky flavors. Plus seafood is  super-healthy—it’s an excellent source of lean protein and some types of fish, such as salmon, are good sources of omega-3 fats, which are good for your heart and your mental health. Click here to find out 6 of the best fish and shellfish to eat and 6 to avoid.

But seafood can be delicate, so here are a few tricks that we use in the Test Kitchen for good results when we’re making grilled seafood recipes:

• Oil it up. We scrape the grill grate clean with a grill brush and oil the grill rack before the food hits the hot surface. It greatly reduces the risk of sticking. See a photo of how to safely oil the grill rack here and get 12 more essential grilling tips.
Grill on foil. This is good if you want something like herbs underneath the fish, as in Grilled Salmon with Mustard & Herbs or if you are working with grilling shrimp or other foods that are small enough to fall through the grate.
Use a grill basket. Sometimes we use a fish basket if we are cooking larger fillets or whole fish, as we do for our delicious Grilled Fish Tacos. It makes flipping the fish over on the grill easier and the fish is less likely to break.

*I read Eating Well through my Facebook feed and find a lot of their articles timely, easily to read and packed full of information!

Monday, May 24, 2010

Summer Eating…

In some recent conversations and discussions online and off I have began to notice that during the summer time people tend to WANT to eat better. Is this because heavy food is just too draining to eat in this weather, or the fact that fruits and veggies are offered as Pick your own and therefore people want to eat them more?

I totally get the fact that watermelon is super refreshing this time of year, but why not eat that well all year?

Do we as a culture put winter weight on only to take it off during the summer, and actually eat healthy?

I could eat an ear of corn any time of year, and do.

I love fresh fruits and veggies and will pay more to get them even in December.

What are some of your favorite summer recipes?

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Still in Shock

I found out today that a good friend of mine that I had met through Yelp died from complications from an accident at a restaurant.

I found out he died on the same day that I was celebrating Dakota going in the potty at the same time. I had no idea until today.

Although we only met in person once, he had become a sympathetic ear to my problems, and always knew how to make me laugh. He was truly my best male friend aside from my husband.

He was 29 years young and although he had been through quite a lot in his short life he found a way to look on the bright side, crack a joke and knew how to make himself and others feel good.

I will miss him immensely and hope that he is resting quietly now and that he can be reunited with his own Mother that he lost just over a year ago.

Friends come in all shapes, sizes and forms. He truly was a wonderful friend that I will remember fondly. I just wish I had gotten to know him better.

R.I.P Matt Kibel Thank you for everything you have done for me, and all the time you took to listen. You will never be forgotten.

Monday, April 26, 2010

The Power of Mediation

It is amazing how arguments that we have been having for months are suddenly a lot more clear and each side is heard now that a mediator is involved. And it’s so nice to finally have tools to help us work through these issues and not just harp on them forever.

As long and hard as this road was to come to I can honestly say as early as we are in the process I already see some strides being made.

Sunday, April 25, 2010

A quick note…

I don’t hold a grudge, but if you decide to be stupid for your entire life I won’t talk to you, for my own sanity. Keep the drama away from me. Refer to My Rules post for further clarification of this. Thanks!

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Happy Earth Day!

Today is the 40th Anniversary Celebration of Earth Day! What did you do to help the Earth today? My question really should be what do you do EVERYDAY? To me Earth Day is like Valentine’s Day in the sense that you should celebrate and embrace it everyday as much as possible. Today I won’t be doing anything different then any other day but I will recycle all of our aluminum cans, reuse paper and conserve as much water and energy as possible.

What do YOU do?

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

My Rules

Okay so maybe “rules” is a bit harsh but these are simple guidelines to treating me right and if you follow them you will be treated with the upmost respect…

1. If we disagree, that’s fine. But let’s be adults about it and discuss it NOT cause unnecessary drama around it.

2. I am full of opinions, be willing to listen and then refer to Rule #1 on how to proceed.

3. Know when to leave me alone. If I am not answering the phone then maybe I don’t want to “talk” BUT more than likely I will be willing to text or IM. Try either. Sometimes it’s just easier for me to communicate that way when I am feeling down.

4. I like to be spoiled but don’t like surprises. If you want to do something for me at least warn me. So I can help you find the best option to spoil me.

5. My child comes before myself. No matter what. Don’t mess with her or you will be messing with me.

6. I am a firm believer in Karma. And generally believe Karma will do my dirty work for me, so treat me with respect at least.

7. I don’t eat meat, so don’t ask me to.

8. Don’t wake me when I am sleeping. Unless the house is on fire. Otherwise you will be dealing with Rule #6.

9. Yes I am a “tomboy” and no I don’t want to wear a dress.

10. I am a tough broad and don’t take shit.

There are more but these are the general rules and regulations of me. Respect them and we will get along fine.

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

My Healthy Living Collaborator…

I will be guest blogging and writing about healthy eating for children here: http://getfitstory.tumblr.com/.

Check her out, follow her on twitter too at http://twitter.com/ThickGirlThin

She is full of healthy living tips & is lots of fun too!

7 Benefits of Exercise via the Mayo Clinic

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/exercise/HQ01676

Exercise: 7 benefits of regular physical activity

You know exercise is good for you — but do you know how good? From boosting your mood to improving your sex life, find out how exercise can improve your life.

By Mayo Clinic staff

Want to feel better, have more energy and perhaps even live longer? Look no further than old-fashioned exercise.

The merits of regular physical activity — from preventing chronic health conditions to promoting weight loss and better sleep — are hard to ignore. And the benefits are yours for the taking, regardless of age, sex or physical ability. Need more convincing? Check out seven specific ways exercise can improve your life.

1. Exercise improves your mood.

Need to blow off some steam after a stressful day? A workout at the gym or a brisk 30-minute walk can help you calm down.

Physical activity stimulates various brain chemicals that may leave you feeling happier and more relaxed than you were before you worked out. You'll also look better and feel better when you exercise regularly, which can boost your confidence and improve your self-esteem. Regular physical activity can even help prevent depression.

2. Exercise combats chronic diseases.

Worried about heart disease? Hoping to prevent osteoporosis? Physical activity might be the ticket.

Regular physical activity can help you prevent — or manage — high blood pressure. Your cholesterol will benefit, too. Regular physical activity boosts high-density lipoprotein (HDL), or "good," cholesterol while decreasing triglycerides. This one-two punch keeps your blood flowing smoothly by lowering the buildup of plaques in your arteries.

And there's more. Regular physical activity can help you prevent type 2 diabetes, osteoporosis and certain types of cancer.

3. Exercise helps you manage your weight.

Want to drop those excess pounds? Trade some couch time for walking or other physical activities.

This one's a no-brainer. When you engage in physical activity, you burn calories. The more intense the activity, the more calories you burn — and the easier it is to keep your weight under control. You don't even need to set aside major chunks of time for working out. Take the stairs instead of the elevator. Walk during your lunch break. Do jumping jacks during commercials. Better yet, turn off the TV and take a brisk walk. Dedicated workouts are great, but physical activity you accumulate throughout the day helps you burn calories, too.

4. Exercise boosts your energy level.

Winded by grocery shopping or household chores? Don't throw in the towel. Regular physical activity can leave you breathing easier.

Physical activity delivers oxygen and nutrients to your tissues. In fact, regular physical activity helps your entire cardiovascular system — the circulation of blood through your heart and blood vessels — work more efficiently. Big deal? You bet! When your heart and lungs work more efficiently, you'll have more energy to do the things you enjoy.

5. Exercise promotes better sleep.

Struggling to fall asleep? Or stay asleep? It might help to boost your physical activity during the day.

A good night's sleep can improve your concentration, productivity and mood. And you guessed it — physical activity is sometimes the key to better sleep. Regular physical activity can help you fall asleep faster and deepen your sleep. There's a caveat, however. If you exercise too close to bedtime, you may be too energized to fall asleep. If you're having trouble sleeping, you might want to exercise earlier in the day.

6. Exercise can put the spark back into your sex life.

Are you too tired to have sex? Or feeling too out of shape to enjoy physical intimacy? Physical activity to the rescue.

Regular physical activity can leave you feeling energized and looking better, which may have a positive effect on your sex life. But there's more to it than that. Regular physical activity can lead to enhanced arousal for women, and men who exercise regularly are less likely to have problems with erectile dysfunction than are men who don't exercise — especially as they get older.

7. Exercise can be — gasp — fun!

Wondering what to do on a Saturday afternoon? Looking for an activity that suits the entire family? Get physical!

Physical activity doesn't have to be drudgery. Take a ballroom dancing class. Check out a local climbing wall or hiking trail. Push your kids on the swings or climb with them on the jungle gym. Plan a neighborhood kickball or touch football game. Find a physical activity you enjoy, and go for it. If you get bored, try something new. If you're moving, it counts!

Are you convinced? Good. Start reaping the benefits of regular physical activity today!

My Goals for Summer 2010

With how much everything has changed so quickly these past few weeks I have decided to make goals for myself for this summer. Because you can’t take care of anyone else if you don’t take care of yourself first.

Here it goes…

1. Start being able to run a mile or two without stopping.

2. GAIN some weight. Okay don’t bash me for this but I really think to be in real shape I need to put on a few pounds. And then tone up from that.

3. Blog more.

4. Take time for me.

5. Take each day one day at a time.

That is my first five. If I come up with any more I will add them later. When I accomplish one I will cross it out and make a post about the challenges and how it felt to finish it!

Monday, April 19, 2010

Starting Fresh

After almost a year and nearly 100 posts about everyone but ME I have decided that I needed to delete what was my last blog and start one about ME and MY life. I can't pretend that these people no longer exist but maybe now I can start focusing on my feelings and not analyzing and over-analyzing every one else's. So that's what I am going to do. Take it or leave it because the opinions expressed here are mine and no one else's, if you like them then great we agree, if not well I really don't have time to be persuaded.

Swagbucks